So, What Else is New?

Last week was probably one of the busiest on my June calendar. Besides something to do or somewhere to go  every day, Monday (June 21) through Thursday (June 24), I was becoming  frazzled planning a family reunion. It’s scheduled for Sunday, July 25, in my hometown of York, Pennsylvania, and I’ve got way too much to do yet (see www.judyroutson.wordpress.com).  

Besides the usual mundane chores  – you know: laundry, cooking, cleaning the bathroom, dish-washing, etc.,  – I’m always busy. Writing, reading, blogging, taking a walk with my husband when my back pain is tolerable, and such.  

Canal Museum entrance, opened in 2007. Serves as visitor center and gift shop.

During this particular week, I was also putting together a story for our weekly community newspaper, the Boonville Herald (www.boonvilleherald.com), about the upcoming  grand opening celebration at the Boonville Black River Canal Museum (www.blackrivercanalmuseum.com), which I did manage to turn in on time. Also began working on another story about several area Korean War vets.  

Here’s a sampling of the week’s activities.  

Monday at noonish, went to aqua-therapy at Slocum-Dickson Med. Center, in New Hartford, followed by lunch at Friendly’s and a shopping trip to Wal-Mart. Exhausting!  

Tuesday night, I gave a brief presentation to the Oneida County Historians Association at the Clinton Historical Society (www.clintonhistory.org). The subject: WordPress and the Boonville Historical Club’s blog (www.boonvillehistoricalclub.wordpress.com). Another long day, since hubby had to pick up something in downtown Utica before 5:00. That meant leaving Boonville around 4:00. Then on to Applebee’s for a quick dinner before heading to Clinton. All amidst a torrential downpour.    

Some of the attendees at the Historians Association meeting, enjoying refreshments afterward.

Wednesday I visited the eye doctor in Boonville. I need new glasses. But, the good news is, I don’t need them to drive. Being the tightwad I am, I’ll delay getting new specs until I’m dang near blind in one eye and can’t see out the other!  

Keith buying fresh lettuce at the farmers market.

Wine samples from the Thousand Island Winery at the Farmers Market.

Thursday meant another 80-mile-round trip to Utica for a follow-up with my cardiologist’s nurse practitioner. Good news again.  

The echocardiogram I had in May reads  “moderate aortic stenosis,” whereas the previous one read,  “moderate to severe.” Thankfully, the condition hadn’t worsened, but it’s not one that will improve. If I live long enough, I may need an artificial heart valve! Until then, I’ll need echos every nine months or so. Unless, of course, I pass out. In that case, other steps will have to be taken. Every day is a gift!  

Thursdays also mean it’s Boonville Farmers Market, from noon until 6 p.m. See their terrific new website at www.boonvillefarmersmarket.com. We usually make a trip to town to check out what’s new with the vendors and visit with friends. The only purchase we made today was a bag of mixed greens. Delicious!  

Being out of the house every day so far this week meant playing catch-up on Friday.  Missed the deadline again for my weekly newspaper column.  What else is new? Spent the morning on the porch trying to get my thoughts organized into a readable format. The tough part is writing what I want to say in 500 words or less. Guess what I wrote about? Journaling.  

Journaling is not just a chronicle of your day’s activities, but writing down your innermost thoughts. Every day. At the same time. It’s supposed to “set you free!”  (http://www.deborahkingcenter.com/blog/2010/06/22/benefits-of-journal-writing/).    

I’ve vowed that this blog will be my daily journal – but you may not see my “innermost” thoughts!   

Saturday morning was graduation day at Adirondack Central, our local high school (www.adirondackcsd.org). About 95 seniors received their diplomas just before the showers started.  

Adirondack Central HS reminds me of the one I graduated from in York County, Pa.

Of interest is a local grad who overcame great odds. On Memorial Day 2008, Chris Beasock and his 12-year-old brother collided head on with their 4-wheelers. Kody was killed instantly.   

(See http://www.wktv.com/news/local/19277229.html)

Chris  lost part of a leg and an arm. After months of rehab, he graduated with his class! We didn’t attend the ceremonies, but it’s a big day for many local folk.  

We checked out our card inventory at the canal museum, now open for the season seven days a week, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. We’re scheduled to serve as volunteer guides there on July 11, the day after the museum’s big open house and ribbon-cutting celebration.  It’s about time! Construction began in 2003. An awesome project.   

Saturday morning I also sent out Family Reunion reminders  via snail mail. The e-mails went out on Friday. Lots of names, many of which I got from Facebook. They may or may not be related. I wonder: How many will come?   

After the late service at church  on Sunday morning, Keith and I counted the offerings (www.boonvilleunitedmethodist.com). It’s a lot more complicated than it sounds, but we’ve been doing it about once a month for many years. We had the money in the bank and were outta’ there by 1:00.  

 And that brings us to this past week. Thankfully, it was a bit less hectic. 

I’m posting this on Friday, July 2. Tonight in Boonville, there are two concerts, followed by fireworks. 

The Fulton Chain Gang (www.fultonchaingang.com) is playing in Erwin Park, and the Boonville Concert Band will perform in the Little Village Park. How or why they are scheduled to play at the same time is a mystery to me, but it was a bad idea! I enjoy them both. But since the local band will be playing other Friday nights this summer, we’ve opted to go hear the Fulton boys, a really awesome Country Rock group that you usually can’t hear for free!   

Strawberry shortcake will be on sale this evening at the canal museum before the concerts. And since  today’s weather forecast promises a beautiful day and evening, that’s where you’ll find us at 6:30 or so!  

The Boonville Village Bandstand, the scene of many summer concerts.

  Thanks for visiting. Please stop by again soon. I’ve a lot of work to do to get this blogsite the way I want it, but it’ll get there eventually.

Comments are always welcome. Don’t worry if they don’t show up immediately; they’re screened for spam first, before they’re allowed onscreen. But don’t let that stop you. I’d love to hear from you – good, bad, or otherwise.  

Y’all come back!

This entry was posted in Blogging, Blogs, Boonville, Personal activities, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment